Removing the toilet altogether in a 320S

After a year and a half we’ve decided we aren’t ever going to use the toilet in our 2018 320S, and so I’m now in the process of removing it to have more space in the shower stall.

The toilet and black tank are still “pristine”, and the plan is to leave the tank and toilet flange in place, sealed with a cleanout plug.

The top of the toilet flange protrudes above the level of the shower pan, so I’ll need to build some sort of raised platform to clear it. But before I do that, I want to make sure the flange itself remains sealed around its edges, since water might still get to it under the new platform when we use the shower. nuCamp used a (still-gooey) black caulk all around the edge of the flange, which I had to disturb in order to slide out the toilet mounting bolts. Does anyone know the specific product nuCamp uses, and/or how best to restore the seal around the edge of the flange? (I'm still a total newbie on RV sealants).

Also, if anyone has done a similar mod, pointers and pictures would be hugely appreciated. I’ve read @Haloo 's excellent Composting toilet installation in a T@B 400 write-up, and would love to see comparable info on how folks have modified the 320 shower floor for either a different toilet or no toilet at all.

Thanks!

2018 320S Boondock | 2018 Ford Escape Titanium

Comments

• sqrpegsqrpeg Member Posts: 59
    Here are some photos of what I ended up doing, in case it's of interest to anyone else. Our overall goal was to have more room to maneuver when showering, and to have more space when we use the stall for storage.

Basically, I removed the toilet but left the flange in place. I then built a platform from HDPE plastic to cover the flange and provide a stable floor. The cover is held in place using the existing mounting slots of the flange.

First, here's the stall with toilet removed and supply line capped: