Options

Etiquette for using parking lots like Wal-Mart, Cracker Barrel, etc.

CandJBCandJB Member Posts: 16
edited October 2023 in Camping & Travel
I'm new to RVing and I've seen several references to people using business parking lots for a quick boon docking overnight stop. Is there some sort of etiquette one should follow relative to the business, like asking permission first, being sure to purchase something from the business, etc.?

I'm a motorcycle rider and try to avoid actions that feed peoples' negative stereotypes of bikers. I'm sure there's something similar for RVers.
2023 T@B 320-S Boondock; 2019 Subaru Outback

Comments

• Options
    JilongJilong Member Posts: 85
    If I stay overnight at a parking lot, I always make sure I make a purchase at the business. If I arrive early enough, I will drop in and ask if it's okay, just as a courtesy because they may ask me to park in a particular location. Also, I will usually chock my wheels but I don't unhitch or drop stabilizers to avoid the possibility of damage to the parking lot.
    2018 Tab 400 × 2013 Toyota Highlander Limited AWD
  • Options
    SLJSLJ Member Posts: 451
    It's a parking lot. You're parked. All you should have to do is plug your 7 pin back in to drive away. Don't unhook, no stabilizers, no awnings, no chairs, no outside cooking, etc. Been using rest areas and parking lots for overnights for 40+ years and have never been told to move or leave one.
    2021 T@B 320 S Boondock
    2023 Ford Maverick XLT
    The Finger Lakes of New York
  • Options
    RTWCTSRTWCTS Member Posts: 113
    We always ask permission inside the business (and make a purchase), as some localities have regulations about overnight parking. We try to remember that we're parking overnight and not camping, so we don't set up anything outside.