Options

CS S 12V fridge

For those that have the CS models. Do you use the refridgerator?  I don't see any venting and noticed it gets the kitchen area very warm if left closed up all day. This in turn causes the fridge to run more and thus the cycle escalates. I notice it runs far more when the hatch is closed. Has anyone else noticed this?  I'm thinking of how to vent the heat. Thoughts?  Thanks in advance!
Norm & Pat. 320 S Outback Utah or somewhere else.

Comments

• Options
    VernaVerna Member Posts: 6,878
    Norm, I thought there was a vent in the floor to exhaust the hot air. This is just what I heard, I have no personal knowledge of it. 
    Verna, Columbus, IN
    2021 T@B 320S  Boondock “The T@B”
    Towed by a white 2019 Ford F-150 4x4 Supercab, 3.5L V6 Ecoboost “The Truck”
  • Options
    NormfunNormfun Member Posts: 285
    I know the 3 way used in the S has a floor vent and fan as well as a side vent.  The CS however is mounted in a cupboard and shining a light in there there is no hole for a vent.  The hot air is being blown out the front.  The front vent is what is talked about in the fridge manual and there is no mention of other vents.  So my guess is you are "supposed" to leave the hatch open when using the fridge.  Either that or it is really a non issue and the extra heat doesn't do any real damage.  If I am driving or on shore power I don't worry much about it. If I have sun and good solar feed I also don't worry.  However if in heavy shade or clouds running the fridge with the clamshell closed draws about 4.5 amps every hour.  That adds up fast.

• Options
    AllieAllie Member Posts: 194
    Due to all the posts complaining about the fridge in both the S and CS S models, I opted not to have the fridge installed.  I use my 5 Day Coleman Extreme cooler with a block of ice and 2# of dry ice.  Down the line, I may go for the ARB.  In the meantime, I have more storage space.
    Allie
    Condo A-Go-Go
    2018 Casita Spirit Dlx (KONDO)