Options

New Battery Wiring

I am new to my 2021 Tab 320s Boondock.   It was just re-wired and it seems to have duplicate positive and negative cables?  I just want to hook up one battery.    I also found the extra red and black wires on the side - not sure if I need those for anything?  Thank you!  

Comments

• Options
    Yoshi_TABYoshi_TAB Member Posts: 381
    edited September 2023
    Hi,

One set of red and black wires will be for the solar controller and the other set will power your TAB.  For the one powering your TAB the positive will go to the switch while the negative goes to a junction box located under the trailer.  Sometimes you see green used instead of red.  The extras might have been if there was a second battery wired in parallel.  Both positive. (Switch and solar controller) will have an in line fuse , so you know those are the positives . 

It is hard to see the wires once they go behind the metal box , but if you get a good look you can follow them.
    2021 TAB 320 BD
    2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee
    Southern Maryland
  • Options
    MuttonChopsMuttonChops Member Posts: 1,596
    The pictures aren't clear on the wire routing.
    Normally the Cut-Off Switch will have One wire In and One Wire Out.
    In the picture it is not clear if your Cut-Off Switch has Two 'Out' wires or the second wire is just routed near but not connected to the Cut-Off Switch.

Tracing all the wires in your battery compartment Before Starting to Connect to the Battery is advised.

'18 320 Spitched axle, 3020HE; PNW based
    TV: '17 Colorado V6 Z71 4x4, Tow Package, GM Brake Controller
    Adventures:  51   Nights:  322  Towing Miles 41,200+
  • Options
    AkromeroAkromero Member Posts: 3
    Thank you!  I appreciate everyone’s help
  • Options
    In the picture it is not clear if your Cut-Off Switch has Two 'Out' wires or the second wire is just routed near but not connected to the Cut-Off Switch.

Hi ,