Drilling through the Floor?

I am starting the installation of tank heaters and was wondering if anyone has advice of the best tool to use to drill holes in the floor of the T@B 400?

I have a number of hole saws in various sizes and would like to just use what I have.  I also have forstner bits but the teeth are more aggressive than the hole saws.

Any other options? 
2019 T@B 400 BDL
2018 Ford F-150 2.7L Ecoboost with tow package
PNW

Comments

• ScottGScottG Administrator Posts: 5,396
    edited November 2019
    I have no first hand experience drilling through the floor, but I'd start with a hole saw. Probably a deeper one is better--I'm not sure the total thickness of the floor but if everything is glued together you may need to get completely through with one cut.
    2015 T@B S
  • N7SHG_HamN7SHG_Ham Member Posts: 1,261
    I have drilled a small hole for wires, about an 1/8". It is a sandwich, Azdel, foam and Azdel. Bit drops through it like gas through a funnel, almost zero resistance. A regular hole saw should work fine, I believe it is less than 2" think, but certainly some thickness you may want to account for with a hole saw.
    2019 T@B 400 Boondock Lite
  • gspdxgspdx Member Posts: 208
    Appreciate the feedback from both of you.  I will probably drill a small pilot hole to test the location and the thickness.  And if all looks good then use the hole saw.  With a pilot hole I can drill from the top and the bottom if necessary.  Planning to line with a PVC bushing and could use one from the bottom and top to eliminate any rough edges.  Then fill any gaps with sealant after the wires are in.
    2019 T@B 400 BDL
    PNW
  • DougHDougH Member Posts: 1,110
    I created a 2.5" portal with a hole saw to create extra ventilation in the rear storage (with screening and a muffin fan).  Main preparation should be using a stud finder to find the aluminum frame elements, and avoid those.
    2021 Jeep Gladiator, 2021 tiny toy hauler, Austin TX