Options

Winter Trip Planning-FL-TX-AZ-PA

jgirlpajgirlpa Member Posts: 9
We may be totally out of our minds, but we are planning a L-O-N-G trip in our T@B this winter (Feb-Apr).  We will be staying in homes part of Jan (FL), Feb (TX) and March (Sedona, AZ).  Places we plan to visit are Everglades (FL), Big Bend (TX) and points in between.  We are open to any advice and recommendations about routes, stops, tips, etc to ensure our trip, first, is possible/reasonable, and we avoid pitfalls along the way.  Thanks for any input!

Comments

• Options
    FloridalohaFloridaloha Member Posts: 68
    Hi, I think it's great that you are taking a trip like this! I am new to T@B and camping, just getting my camper this coming week. But I've lived in FL a very long time and I rent out vacation cottages near the SW coast. I understand from friends that the best FL campsites fill up very quickly, some even up to a year in advance. So I would get on it asap if you can. January is a better bet than Feb/March for Florida, though. If you travel north on I-75 after leaving the Everglades, there are a couple of nice parks just a few miles from the Interstate. Oscar Scherer State Park in Osprey, Myakka River State Park, Turtle Beach Park in Sarasota on Siesta Key (right on the beach!). Those campgrounds are maybe 3 hours max from the Everglades. In south St. Petersburg, about another hour north, Fort DeSoto also gets great reviews from campers.

I'm sure other more experienced folk will chime in here but these are the campgrounds near me that would likely be on your way from the Everglades to Texas. Good luck and let us know where you will be!
  • Options
    SweetlyHomeSweetlyHome Member Posts: 336
    Hi,
    We are FL residents and camp monthly during the camp-able season, Octoberish to March or April.  Other than private campgrounds (KOA etc.) sites are difficult to get  beginning in  November and by December for sure.