Options

Intervals for emptying holding tanks

I am a brand newbie to this forum and RV ownership.  I hate to talk dirty right off the bat...but my question is with the 8 gallon black tank that comes with the T@B.  There are two of us traveling and we will be taking a 5 - 6 week trip and I need some advise about how often the tank needs to be drained...just a ballpark.  I need to be sure and plan our stop sites so there is a sewer connection when this needs to be done.  Thanks in advance for the help!

Comments

• Options
    HomebodyatheartHomebodyatheart Member Posts: 2,497
    Welcome @TikiBarTab! A lot of us were new and novices like you! I was terrified of tank dumping till a friend talked me through my first one. Easy! I dump at the end of each campout, so for you, when you leave for the next spot. The other indicator would be your holding capacity which you can check on the Seelevel monitor. You can also hold the flush lever open and look down into the tank with a flashlight. Dumping more frequently will also give you less weight to tow. Someone on this forum highly recommended Happy Campers enzyme powder for tank treatment, and I love it! I use it in both tanks after each dump with some water included to start the cleaning process all over. It is scent free, a biggie for me, and simple, and compact. Some people make their own mixes and those work, too. You'll figure it out! Good luck!
    2017 T@B 320 Max S silver and cherry red, L@dybug ("Bug" aka my esc@pe pod), TV 2015 Toyota Highlander aka Big Red
  • Options
    Michigan_MikeMichigan_Mike Member Posts: 2,861