Options

HAM/Amateur Radio Install Help

T@BuhuraT@Buhura Member Posts: 97
edited May 2015 in Products and Accessories
Our Jensen head unit has malfunctioning buttons - it'll turn itself on (won't ever turn itself off) and sometimes the buttons become non-responsive. I was going to replace it with a newer Pioneer unit with Bluetooth but decided the DIN slot would be best used by my new (to me) ICOM ID-880H. Has anyone done an install of an amateur radio in their T@B? 

I'm new to T@B/RV (and HAM - still waiting on my call sign) and I would love guidance on wiring and also ideas on antenna placement. If you've installed one do you have pics of the install or finished setup? I'd really appreciate it!
2006 Dutchman T@B T16, 2010 Volvo XC90 3.2 R-Design

Comments

• Options
    ChanWChanW Member Posts: 3,158
    edited May 2015
    Great idea.

It might be smarter to mount the antenna on your TV, to give the signal a ground plane in the vehicle body. ie: the Tab has so little metal in its body, that you wouldn't have any ground plane, unless you were to lay out wires for your ground plane.

It'd be easier to find a mount designed for a vehicle too.

I don't do ham, only did some CB, so I might be talking out my tail-end here. Been known to do that. :-)
    Chan  -  near Buffalo NY
    2014 S Maxx
    2011 Tacoma 4cyl ... edit: 2022 Tacoma 6cyl - oh yeah! 

A_Little_T@b'll_Do_Ya
  • Options
    Michigan_MikeMichigan_Mike Member Posts: 2,861
    I'm not a Ham radio operator but had an uncle who talked to people around the world.  It was fascinating and he had post cards from every corner of the globe.  there is a ton of "how to" information on YouTube and the guy below has some videos posted and there are many videos available that might give you the information you are requesting.