Options

Coleman 40w solar panel.

Found one for $99 (canadian pesos) last night..regular 250.   Its a 40w will this effectively charge the t@b battery while boondocking?  Thanks for any insight you can provide.

Comments

• Options
    PlaycPlayc Member Posts: 234
    I'm new to solar panels and like to learn.  Is it worth the investment?   What's the 'best' one for our TAB.  Plan to use on day trips to parks while no ac connect.

Is there a list/summary what having solar panels can and cannot do to set the right expectations? 

TIA
    2015 S Sofitel, Austin/Houston
  • Options
    JandJ92010JandJ92010 Member Posts: 304
    There have been several discussions here on solar panels, if you have time to do some digging you will find them. I bought a 120 watt panel, haven't tried it yet, but 40 watt seems a bit on the "not enough" side.
    The HobbiT@B, 2015-L, towed by a2014 RAM C/V
  • Options
    Jand - what are the right expectations for 120w panel?   AC? Fan? Hot water? 
  • Options
    mash2mash2 Member Posts: 581
    AC requires shore power.

40w is very small.... would offer modest addition (maybe an addition 15-20 amps per day in mid summer).  If you were extremely frugal, it would certainly augment your capacity.  

Probably better use as battery charger between outings...would keep the battery charged when not in use (there are draws on the system when in storage and this should keep the battery conditioned for outings), but it is a bit weak to assume that you can make do with it (but it does depend on how much/little power you will use while camping.    

There are some deals out there on larger systems....renogy has a 100 watt system for $150 and others deals are out there.
  • Options
    Hi mash2 - with renogy100 watt system for $150, wIll it allow the refrigerator on/use all day on battery,  assuming sun light during the day? 

Or what folks make the best use?  As I am interested in getting solar but not for storage charge purpose. ..
  • Options