Options

Ham Radio battery connection

Hi,
I have replaced the battery that cam with my 2022 320S with a 100amp LiPo4 battery. 
I am a ham radio operator and would like to “plug in” my radio to the battery. It required 20 amp power.
are the wires that enter the Tab powerful enough to handle 20 amps? Can I use one of the fuse imputes on the panel? Is there another way that I can connect a wire to be able to run my radio.
How are the wires routed into the Tab? Can I pull wires from the battery box to the under seat electrical connections?
I hope I made myself clear.

Comments

• Options
    pthomas745pthomas745 Moderator Posts: 3,676
    20 amps?  How big is this radio?  What type of circuit do you plug it in at home?  The trailer is capable of 30 amps on shore power, but none of the 12V  circuits are close to 30 amps, except for the battery protection/charging fuses.
    2017 Outback
    Towed by 2014 Touareg TDi
  • Options
    DBoondockerDBoondocker Member Posts: 9
    It is a 100 watt ham radio. I am trying to find out the wire gauge that was used from the battery to the fuse panel and where I might tap into those wires for a 20 amp circuit. I can use a 120v power supply but 12v is the way to go for portable use. I currently use it with a 20a LiPo4 battery but, since I have this nice big battery in the rv, I would like to use that and leave the 20amp at home.
  • Options
    100 watts is doable with an inverter plugged into a 12V port, and the radio plugged into the inverter.  If that would give you stable enough power.  There are threads that describe the basic wiring that runs into the converter from the front of the trailer.  If you look under the driver's side bench you should be able to see the wires back there. I'm not the person to give advice on this, however.  There are general threads that talk about the wiring that goes into the converter, so this one might help, at least give you places to inspect.

2017 Outback
  • Options