Options

2023 Tab 320 S Boondock - Automating Inverter or Shore Power

This is a design that I am working on. About to build this out in my 2023 Tab 320. Any feedback about the design? Trying to have a fully automatic shore power AC or an internal inverter. The 30 amp automatic transfer switch is key.  Did not want to turn on the Inverter and have the WFCO try and charge the batteries from the converter turning on.

Comments

• Options
    RMoRMo Member Posts: 147
    Hello and welcome!   Your equipment may be different than mine, but in my 2019 400 I added a switch that would disconnect my added battery bank from the WFCO if the inverter was turned on - to ensure I wasn't charging the battery while using the inverter.  I also added an a/b/off switch to be able to select which battery bank I wanted to be active (I have dual AGMs as one bank and a single 400ah lifepo as the other).  I'm not an expert, and again, maybe your WFCO is different than mine and doesn't charge when getting power from the inverter.  Or maybe I wasted $30 on a switch :)
    2019 T@B 400
    2017 Highlander Limited
  • Options
    MuttonChopsMuttonChops Member Posts: 1,596
    ranger1 said:

Welcome to the TaB Family, great little trailers and wonderful folks on this forum.

Based on your diagram it does not appear the Transfer Switch will achieve your goal of stopping the WFCO from applying voltage to the battery bank when in "Inverter Mode".  And as @RMo referenced additional manual switching maybe required.

The WFCO Power Center when supplied with 120VAC will a) power the 120V Outlets and b) power the 12VDC Convertor.  Normally ACV Breaker #1 controls the 12VDC Convertor, so switching that breaker off would stop the WFCO from trying to drive the battery . . . however, that would also remove power from all 12VDC appliances (Fan, Fridge, Lights)