total newbie question for boondocking

I have a 2019 Nucamp 320s.   For the first time we are going to boondocking.  I know that I can run the Heater, and the fridge with our propane tank.  I'm guessing that I can't run the AC, nor the lights...or that they will try to run off of the battery.  So we have a blackstone grill, so I'm guessing that I can't run that, unless i have some sort of inverter to run that.  Can someone help with how best to boondock with a Nucamp.
Going on Wednesday.

Comments

• ybakosybakos Member Posts: 60
    Have fun! Most of it you'll figure out after the first time out. :)

The only things that don't work on battery-only power are: Alde on electric mode, air conditioning.

2022 Tab 320 CS-S Boondock
  • pthomas745pthomas745 Moderator Posts: 3,905
    What battery do you have?  That will give you a baseline on how much you can "use".  How long will you be out there in the wild?
    Do you have solar?  Assuming you do...do you have the Victron app?  Something to monitor your battery to sort out how much power you actually have left?  The "best" way to boondock is by knowing how much power you have.  A monitor (Victron, or multimeter, etc) is the key.
    Practice, if you can, with your Alde on propane.  Have those basics down now, and make sure it works, before heading out.  If the Alde has not been used in a while, it can be cranky and throw errors.  Better to let it be cranky in your driveway instead of when you are cold at a campsite.  Driveway practice=boondock success.
    So: what battery?  What do you have to monitor the battery? 
    2017 Outback
    Towed by 2014 Touareg TDi
  • SlackersSlackers Member Posts: 458