Options

A Forgotten Necessity

A FLY SWATTER:  I have been camping in my T@B for two years.  During my recent trip, I realized something I really needed I did not have, and that is something as mundane as a fly swatter.  I used rolled up paper and a dish towel until I could make a stop at Wal-Mart.  If you are outfitting for the first time, I highly recommend you add this to your list.

I realize that some of you have screen doors, but a screen door is only really advantageous if you plan to keep the outer door open.  When you enter and exit, ALL doors must be opened, including the screen door.  Every fly (and skeeter) in the area will see that opening immediately and make a beeline for it.

BTW, the Black Hills and the Badlands have not changed much in the four times I've been there; still spectacular.  Also, they are doing major road work from Wall, SD, south on Hwy 240, so you can expect major delays if you're headed that way anytime soon.

Larry & Booger - 2013 T@B, 2012 GMC Sierra

Happy Trails Y'all

States Visited Map

Comments

• Options
    NomadNomad Member Posts: 7,209
    Yep - Flys and they're especially thick this time of the year. And there's no way to keep them out, some sneak in every time you enter/exit. I finally stopped into a farm supply store and got some of those old style sticky strips.
    240 was a mess when I was there a month ago. Did you happen to hit that boondocking area just north of the entrance to the Badlands?
  • Options
    RZRBUGRZRBUG Member Posts: 890
    Road work had the entrance to that area blocked, but from what I could see, it did look interesting.

Larry & Booger - 2013 T@B, 2012 GMC Sierra

Happy Trails Y'all

States Visited Map

• Options
    kybobkybob Member Posts: 232
    I picked up an battery operated fly swatter at Harbor Freight. It's very satisfying hearing the "zap" when you get one. Also, you get them in the air, and not on one of your surfaces.