Options

The Southwest - Where & Why?

NomadNomad Member Posts: 7,209
Last year I was a newbie to spending the winter half of the year in the southwest so I know of some of the places to go and see but am interested in what others recommend. I kind of define the southwest as a horizontal line across the northern boarder of AZ west to the coast and east thru NM - an area of moderate temps, rarely below freezing (that would exclude higher elevations with snow -or the potential). There are a few areas thatescape the northern boundry though.
Am thinking the list could be in the format... State - Nearest Town - Area/Campgound (type: BLM, etc) - Why (the most important part)
Ok fellow snowbirds, have at it.

Comments

• Options
    CA - Lone Pine - Alabama Hills (BLM)
    Big old area not too far west of town where a lot of old westerns were made (movies/TV series). The main road is called Movie Road. You can set up back in the bolders, look out over the valley with a western view of Mt. Whitney. I didn't visit last year until Feb. The temps right now - while not extremely cold - are on the cool side. Nice little town also.
  • Options
    VernaVerna Member Posts: 6,878
    edited November 2015
    Tonto National Forest, Cholla Campground. Solar toilets and showers. Absolutely no electricity there. Water available every few campsites. The Honey Wagon comes twice a week and you drive to it. 

Get camping passes at convenience stores in Apache Junction or other places. $3/night with Ole Geezer pass, $6/night for the kids. 

The campground is on Roosevelt Lake, lots of water sports, lots of really good scenery. 

Near the Boyce Thompson Arboretum State Park which is dog friendly, by the way.
    Verna, Columbus, IN
    2021 T@B 320S  Boondock “The T@B”
    Towed by a white 2019 Ford F-150 4x4 Supercab, 3.5L V6 Ecoboost “The Truck”
  • Options
    edited November 2015