Options

No Reservations

jehdfdjehdfd Member Posts: 27
I'm new to camping with my T@b and could use some advice. We'd really like to go to a couple of National Parks in Utah in July; however, very few of the places I've checked allow for reservations. They are mostly first come first served. It's kind of scary to think of driving from Colorado to Utah and just gambling that I'll find a site. Is this a valid concern or am I worried over nothing? Any advice you have I would really appreciate!
Aurora, Colorado - 2016 T@b Outback - 2015 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited

Comments

• Options
    NomadNomad Member Posts: 7,209
    From my limited NP experience - There's lots of turnover and the best time is to get there is 10-12 noon for those that don't take reservations. Lots of people pull out early (especially tenters). You may have to cool your jets for an hour or so but there's many moving on to their next destination. But, have an alternative - another campgrounds or a boondocking site close by - just in case. I've seen people show up late (even as late as 10pm) and get skunked.
  • Options
    jkjennjkjenn Member Posts: 6,391
    That being said, they may fill up. Most of the Utah National Parks have other BLM camping near the parks. Try Campendium.com That site is particularly good for these types of campgrounds.

2021 T@b 320 Boondock "Mattie Ross" | 2021 T@b Nights: 239 | Total nights in a T@b 455 | 2022 Jeep Grand Cherokee L Overland | T@b owner since 2014

• Options
    Or if you have a iPhone/iPad, the UltimateCG (campground) app is very good - It's my camping/travel bible - Haven't gotten skunked and not found something ever.
  • Options
    DurangoTaBDurangoTaB Member Posts: 754
    Ditto to Jenn...there are a lot of options around Moab...watch the time of year and time of day if you want to visit Arches!

J.D. & Sue

Durango, CO    2014/15 S M@xx :  "Dory's HabiT@B"  Keep on swimming...

• Options
    sabelsabel Member Posts: 283