Options

Caught in Nightly Sub 32* Temps

Hi all, newbie here ... I need advice on whether to sit tight and wait for conditions to clear or move south to warmer conditions immediately. Last night it rained with a light sprinkling of snow (June Lake, Ca Hwy 395, 7000 ft). The low temp was sub 32* for a couple of hours and for the next two nights in the 20s (without more snow). Highs in the 40s. I'm worried about the temps getting into the 20s the next two nights with the Tab. Still raining and snow is melting off. Advice welcome... move on?

Comments

• Options
    ChrisandAlexisChrisandAlexis Member Posts: 120
    Looks like temps for Bishop, CA which is further south for the next couple of days to be high 60's, low 70's for highs and lows to be high 30's and mid 40's.

Going south to Mammoth is about the same as what you are getting now.

Chris and Alexis-- Roseville, California--2017 T@B CS-S--Toyota 4Runner
  • Options
    seejayseejay Member Posts: 12
    My next stop was in Lone Pine for full hookups Sat-Sun. I could try to get a spot tonight down there. My tab is not winterized. Followed suggestions on another feed to open bathroom & cabinet doors last night to keep pipes warm. All pipes seem okay this morning. New hi today is 54*. but lows in the 20s. Will make a decision around noon. Thanks
  • Options
    AlanAlan Member Posts: 120
    I'm curious. If one has the Alde on will it prevent frozen pipe problems? 
  • Options
    pthomas745pthomas745 Moderator Posts: 3,690
    This is a pretty early cold front for the west.  ChrisandAlexis said it best as far as forecast temps.  You need to drop some elevation.  Bishop is at 4000 feet or so.  Every where north of you (towards Bridgeport) is almost the same elevation, with likely freezing temps at night.
    2017 Outback
    Towed by 2014 Touareg TDi
  • Options
    Alan, that is my question also. 'Will the Alde keep pipes warm enough?' If so then I'm okay for a couple of nights ...
  • Options