Options

Check the tub mounting screws before your next trip!

RadRad Member Posts: 516
edited September 2017 in Trailer & Towing
In the process of designing a support system for the dual 6v batteries I will be placing in the current battery propane compartment on the new T@B I made a rather disturbing discovery.  Only 4 rather small bolts with nyloc nuts holds the entire compartment, including the propane tank and battery to the frame and on mine 1 bolt was completely gone and two were unsecured almost to the point of falling out.  Only one of the four was secured and tight.

When I got the T@B home the first time I did go through and tighten all the fasteners I could see; however, like a dummy I did not crawl under the rig.

One gone and two like this.

One still holding

I'm no automotive expert but I grew up in my dad's machine shop and I have been wrenching on cars and motorcycles for decades and I can't remember ever seeing a frame member, or something of size secured to a frame member with with nyloc nuts.  

No question prior to our next trip in two weeks I will have replaced all four fasteners with good quality bolts, lock washers and nuts, and will even use medium strength thread lock.

Current fastener

Comments

• Options
    jkjennjkjenn Member Posts: 6,391
    Wow.

2021 T@b 320 Boondock "Mattie Ross" | 2021 T@b Nights: 239 | Total nights in a T@b 455 | 2022 Jeep Grand Cherokee L Overland | T@b owner since 2014

• Options
    DurangoTaBDurangoTaB Member Posts: 754
    Ditto!

J.D. & Sue

Durango, CO    2014/15 S M@xx :  "Dory's HabiT@B"  Keep on swimming...

• Options
    bigmattbigmatt Member Posts: 31
    RAD, The nuts in your photos are Esna nuts,a type of lock nut,the nylon insert in the nut is suppose to keep the nut from backing off,they are usually for 1 time use.I am really surprised they came loose.They normally work very well. Matt
  • Options
    ChanWChanW Member Posts: 3,158
    I'm surprised too.