Options

Towing with a Sway Bar

CyclonicCyclonic Member Posts: 1,232
edited March 2014 in Tips & Tricks
This discussion was created from comments split from: Ready - Set - Tow!.

I decided to split this topic off as there is some very useful information contained within, and this would make it easier for folks to find this information later.

States the T@Bpole has camped, so far ;)
Nathan & Becky... 2013 Ford F150 FX4 TAB HLR... 2012 LG T@B T@Bpole.
Sterling, VA

Comments

• Options
    oldnewartguyoldnewartguy Member Posts: 11

I'm new to towing. Saw a guy in Fla. with a Casita and noticed that he had a sway bar which he highly recommended. What do any of you experienced T@Bbers know of think about the need for a sway bar?

Thanks 

Tom & Pam in MD

2014 T@B S M@XX         2014 Subaru Outback

• Options
    jbug10jbug10 Member Posts: 156
    I use a sway bar.  I had it installed when I bought T@b in Feb 2012  because I was a little nervous about towing and it definitely made me feel safer.  After I gained more confidence, I would not put it on.  Then I would have to stop and put it back on.  Without it, my already bouncy Jeep bounced even more.  With the sway bar on, it rides very smooth.  It has a towing capacity of 5000lb, so that's not why it bounces up and down though.  I think it is just the nature of my Liberty.  Bottom line, sway bars don't hurt and if they make you a more confident tower, go for it. 
    June; 2013 T@b "Fant@bulous"; 2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee; one kayak and one bike
  • Options
    edited November 2014
    Thanks, Jbug, I'm leaning towards getting it, but I'll also contact Beckley's about their opinion and the cost. We are scheduled to pick our new "Lucy" in 1-1/2 weeks. All dewinterized and ready to go. Hopefully spring will arrive in Maryland soon.

Tom & Pam in MD

• Options