Options

10 minute, no-drill satellite radio install

Satellite radio, dock, antenna and 12volt power supply
Command brand adhesive hooks

I can do without TV anytime but music on the other hand just makes me happy. I've had a Sirius XM Edge (out of production now) for some time and toss it in the camper when we head out. At first I was looking at permanently mounting the antenna and unit but I'm still learning where everything runs in the new-to-us 400, and then thought some people shy away from electronics or tools; everybody has their comfort zone. The cool thing about a tear drop style camper is the windows and the view they allow so I tried just dropping the satellite radio antenna in the windows around the camper. I was amazed that I got reception in all four windows and that is the point; you don't have to drill a hole if you're not certain what's on the other side or don't want to tweak your cabinets. The antenna cable is plenty long to drop the antenna in a window and tuck the cable along the seams and overheads to reach the radio dock. In my case I placed the antenna in the right front window, ran the cable up to the overhead where the forward speaker is, tucked it between the roof and accent lights, across the door top, down the right edge of the screen door and to the 12v socket area over the sink. Plug in the power supply, turn on the satellite and Jensen radio, synchronize the radio channels and viola! The cable is exposed in the pictures because if I tucked them away for the photos it would be hard to see the path. There is enough overhead access to run the antenna cable from the middle of the camper to either front or rear windows for clear reception. It took two minutes to remove the dock, antenna, and power supply and stow it in the TV for safe keeping.