Questions about towing TAB 320cs-s and two Kayaks with 2017 Honda Ridgeline,

mikewisniewskimikewisniewski Member Posts: 10
edited February 2019 in Trailer & Towing
Hello my name is Mike and I am new to RVing.  I recently purchase a 2018 TAB 320cs-s.  Currently I am towing it with a 2011 Lexus RX350.   The Lexus pulls the TAB fairly well on flat and some good size hills (such a the West Virginal Turnpike) at about 13 to 16 MPG at 55 to 65 MPH.  My concern is adding two 12 foot Kayaks to the top of the Tow vehicle.  I have been looking for a different tow vehicle that can tow the TAB and TWO Kayaks mounted on J-rails on the top of the tow vehicle.  I do not think the Lexus will be able to handle this set up I will be heading out west in April from Ohio (some mountains and higher elevations).   Can anyone tell me if the Honda Ridgeline could handle this set up and still have the engine RPM lower (not overworking)  with decent gas mileage?    I have also looked into to a 2015 Toyota Sequoia and I am sure that can handle  the set up with no problems.  My concern with the Sequoia is the possible low MPG.   The TAB will not be over loaded weight wise and there will be two people on the trip.  Any solid direction on the Ridgeline would be appreciated!!  Thanks Mike   

Comments

• jgram2jgram2 Member Posts: 1,522
    @mikewisniewski, welcome to the forum! While you wait for a Ridgeline owner to reply, go ahead and search on Ridgeline in the search field-upper right of your screen. There a several threads about them which might be interesting.
    John, Judi, Guinness & OD in PDX
    T@Bit@t 2015 S Max Outback, ‘18 V6 4Runner 

• dragonsdoflydragonsdofly Member Posts: 1,916
    @mikewisniewski, welcome to the forum and congratulations on your trailer!  Wonderful folks here with a wealth of information. Someone will answer with helpful info. In the meantime, adventures await, and happy t@bbing!