Inspection Holes in Frame

Tabaz Tabaz Member Posts: 2,350
What are these for? Can they be permanently covered up?

2016 Outback 320 with a 2010 Ford Expedition.

Comments

• DenisPDenisP Member Posts: 538
    I covered them a year ago. No problems, no critters. 
    2018 T@b 400, 200ah Lithium with Solar
    2013 Tundra TRD 5.7L
    Massachusetts
  • suramsuram Member Posts: 13
    I have a 2019 320 S- do I have this inspection hole? And it's open from outside to camper? Beginner here...  Thanks
    2019 pre-owned T@B 320 S, Alde 3020
    TV 2018 Toyota Highlander 3.5L v6
  • ScottGScottG Administrator Posts: 5,391
    I believe those holes are only on the 400 frame. I don't have them on my 320. Regardless, they don't open into the camper, only into the space between the frame elements.
    It's unclear to me if they are really inspection holes or just a way to cut down on materials/weight on the larger trailer frames.
    2015 T@B S
  • dCliffhangerdCliffhanger Member Posts: 120
    I have these openings on my 2020 320S Boondock
    Ron\ 2020 T@B 320-S Boondock Edge; Roof Solar, Firefly Grp31 Carbon Foam Battery; TV: 2019 Grand Cherokee Trailhawk 3.6l V6; Madison, Wi
  • ScottGScottG Administrator Posts: 5,391
    Hmmm, maybe I do have them but have never taken note of them. I don't have the plastic underbelly cover, so in my case no holes are needed to inspect any of the underfloor mechanicals.
    2015 T@B S
  • ChrisKChrisK Member Posts: 270
    They are holes to lighten the frame. Before anyone thinks they weaken the trailer, they don't The "rim" around the hole adds the strength back. When building race cars, they call that adding lightness.
    2014 T@b S Max AKA T@dpole
  • TNOutbackTNOutback Member Posts: 633