Options

Adventures in Air Conditioning - Danby 5,000 btu overhead install

Ok kids, this could be long.  
Also, I'm not an engineer, nor do I play one on T.V.   :-)
Having read all the posts about the Danby dripping and how to prevent it, I deciding to have a deeper look.  This is my quest:
I pulled the unit after a trip and silicone caulked all around the inside of the a/c compartment thinking maybe there was a crack or something.
Nope.  That didn't do the job.  Besides, there was little evidence of there ever being much condensate in the pan.  Drain was clear, too.
Next trip was high altitude in Co. where we dry camped for a week.  The 3-way fridge worked flawlessly on propane.....and we were dead-to-rights level.  No need for A/C.  This got me thinking, well, what if you want to use your fridge on propane AND your A/C?  One needs level, one needs tilting. Now I don't know to what extent being out of level will affect the fridge, but I'll leave that for others.  Point is, it got my mind going......not always a good thing.  Things break.   :-)
A/C Primer:   Air conditioners condition and cool the air.  Conditioning is pulling out the excess moisture.   This collects on the front (inside) coil and drips off and runs toward the back.   It's this water that is the problem.