Options

refilling water tank when dry camping

We have a 2022 T@B 400 and when we need to add water when dry camping, it seems the pump/siphon function on the Nautilus system is slow to add to the tank.  Will reversing the screen on the city connection to release the check valve help or will that damage the system?  Has anyone tried a water transfer pump to pull water from a jug and fill the tank at typical hose pressure?  Thanks for any advice and thoughts on this.

Comments

• Options
    MuttonChopsMuttonChops Member Posts: 1,596
    While I have no direct experience,
    Have you Considered using a Jerry Can to Gravity Fill via the City Water inlet?
    { aren't typical electrical RV water pumps limited to 2+ to 4 gallons per minute }

As for the City Connection Check Valve - - - I don't see it as an issue

While doing a Gravity Fill allows maximum water flow rate (for plumbing hose size) if 'one' can lift a  5-gal (40'ish pound) Jerry can. . . . .

'18 320 Spitched axle, 3020HE; PNW based
    TV: '17 Colorado V6 Z71 4x4, Tow Package, GM Brake Controller
    Adventures:  51   Nights:  322  Towing Miles 41,200+
  • Options
    jmcgonigjmcgonig Member Posts: 12
    I have from 5 gallon tanks.  Takes about a minute to suck most of it up.  Wouldn't expect it any faster.
  • Options
    SLJSLJ Member Posts: 451
    I fill from 5 gallon jugs. It takes a couple of minutes per jug. The time doesn't bother me. It helps if the jugs are set on something so they are close to the height of the Nautilus system. The pump doesn't seem to work as hard.
    2021 T@B 320 S Boondock
    2023 Ford Maverick XLT
    The Finger Lakes of New York
  • Options
    berggerbergger Moderator Posts: 1,006