Options

Which Honda 2000i do I get?

Thanks for letting me join your group!  I just bought a Max-S and very excited about it.

I need some Honda 2000i questions answered.  I did a search and couldn't find out what I needed. 

Anyway, I'm getting Honda 2000i.  The question is which one..... the 2000i or the 2000i Companion?  I really only need one generator, so the salesman said I could get the 2000i Companion as a stand alone unit so I could use the included 30 amp outlet on the generator then just plug in the T@B and run it.    Or.....should I get the original 2000i which has two 15 amp plugs and use an 30 amp plug adaptor to power the trailer? 

I would appreciate anyone's technical expertise especially if you have a 2000i.   I'm a TT newbie and want to get it right before I spend $1000 on a generator.   Thanks so much!

Comments

• Options
    NomadNomad Member Posts: 7,209
    There was just a recent thread on this exact topic - Several dealers told me that you can't used the companion by itself whereas Ratkity's dealer told here she could.
    After 21 months on the road I can't honestly say I've never seen a companion used singularily.
  • Options
    RatkityRatkity Member Posts: 3,770
    Depends on the features you want. The 2000i has the battery charger and double 20A outlets (you'll have to use an adaptor for your 30A camper plug). The Companion has the plug connect for the 30A (still only puts out 20A) and no battery charger. The output watts are still the same as well as the amperage. If you are unsure, go with the 2000i (the companion is 2000ia). Main features as far as gas usage, safety features (oil shut off), ECOmode, etc are the same on both.
    2017 820R Retro Toy Hauler from 2015 Tabitha T@B from 2009 Reverse LG Teardrop (but a T@Bluver at heart)
  • Options
    I have the battery charge cable and actually had to use it one time out in the Black Hills.
  • Options