Options

Does any body tow T@B with 4 cylinder Subaru Outback?

2»

Comments

• Options
    AldebaranJillAldebaranJill Member Posts: 452
    edited January 2017
    @tabtraveler

I have been towing with 4 cylinder Subaru for over 3 years. Like others say, you are fine on flat roads, and slower and mindful of rpm on hills, but it is manageable.

I have the version of T@B that has the hydraulic brakes built into the trailer. There is no brake controller active in my car. 

Link to manuals
    http://www.subaru.com/owners/vehicle-resources.html
    2013 MAXX T@B towed by a 2015 Volvo S60 5 CYL AWD Sedan
    Seattle, WA
  • Options
    irvingjirvingj Member Posts: 335
    Jill, is your T@B a Dutchmen version? If so, the brakes may be totally mechanical. I'd be interested to know if they're really hydraulic and how they work. I liked mine (2004 T2), as there was no connection/controller/electric/hydraulic... and they worked quite well, I thought. Nice example of the KISS principle!
  • Options
    LauraReyLauraRey Member Posts: 338
    I'm towing with a 4 cyl Forester (2010) and I have the brake controller installed.  I don't have much experience towing yet as I just bought the T@B in December 2016.  (Just before our snow season hit)  When towing it home, I noticed that the rpms were about 500 higher.  I had no trouble braking.  In fact, the electronic brakes on the trailer were really good.  I had to turn down the sensitivity.
    Red and White, 2017 Max S being towed by a 2014 Honda Ridgeline.  Hello Mountains!
  • Options
    Michigan_MikeMichigan_Mike Member Posts: 2,861