Options

Awning ?

Hi I am a newbie as we picked our Tab Outback this year and we used it five times and love it. We are now in the market for a quality awning that will hold up. From what I understand there are awnings to avoid due to shaky workmanship.  Could members recommend a quality one  Thanks Bohemian Bob

Comments

• Options
    tonyo35tonyo35 Member Posts: 16
    Also wondering if I should go for the bigger awning over the half moon style.  Thanks 
  • Options
    Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 9,498
    I am not sure that I know of any awnings with poor workmanship. The old Thermarest side rooms are a hot item, but are hard to come by.

All Pro Adventures is the nuCamp retail company.  They offer a Shade Wing (visor), the standard awning and a more robust awning called the Sun Canopy.  The Walker tent is also offered.

https://tab-rv.vanillacommunity.com/discussion/9256/320-awning-from-all-pro-adventures

PahaQue makes custom TaB awnings, tents and visors.

https://pahaquecustom.com/collections/trailer-shades

Sharon / 2017 T@B CSS / 2015 Toyota Sienna Minivan / Westlake, Ohio
  • Options
    ScottGScottG Administrator Posts: 5,427
    If I understand you correctly, the "half moon style" is what is commonly called a visor. These come in different sizes and are best suited for providing shade in warm, dry, low wind environments.
    Awnings typically have sides that go all the way to the ground (at least in the front). These will provide better rain protection and stand up to stronger winds. The All Pro and PahaQue models Sharon mentions should both be quality choices.
    I have the PahaQue model and particularly like that it has roll-down flaps that allow both sides to go all the way to the ground. I encounter a variety of conditions including sun, heat, cold, rain, winds and bugs--the PahaQue works well for all these things.
    Like most things, it ultimately depends on how you camp and what you want your shelter to do.
    2015 T@B S