Options

2014 Silverado hitch drop/rise question for a 2020 T@B 400 BDL

EdNEdN Member Posts: 5
Hi everyone.  I'm a newbie to the T@B community, and I'm looking for some advice.  We purchased a 2020 T@B 400 BDL a few weeks ago, but have not yet picked up the T@B, it's being stored at the dealer until the weather warms up in the Northeast.  We plan to tow with a 2014 Silverado 4WD with Z71 package.  It has factory towing with the brake controller integrated into the vehicle. 

We will be picking up our T@B in a few weeks, before we do I need to purchase a hitch ball mount but I'm not sure if I've calculated the hitch height correctly.  I've read on this forum that the 2020 T@B 400 BDL has a level coupler height of ~20 inches.  I measured the height of the receiver on my trailer hitch at 19.75 inches.  I believe I'll need to purchase a ball mount that gives me a ~1 inch rise to achieve level towing of the trailer (assuming some squat due to tongue weight).

Can you let me know if my calculations are right, if not can you suggest what ball mount rise or drop I should purchase?

Thank you in advance for you help!

EdN
EdN / 2020 T@B 400 BDL / 2014 Silverado / Templeton, MA

Comments

• Options
    Denny16Denny16 Member Posts: 5,445
    My 2018 TaB 400 is closer to 18” so with the slight drop in your truck as you hook up, a straight ball and slight rise (2-inches is the smallest I have seen) should work.  Get both, a small rise ball and a straight ball setup.  Ball size is 2-inches.
    cheers
    2018 TaB400 Custom Boondock,  Jeep Gladiator truck, Northern California Coast.
  • Options
    AirBossAirBoss Member Posts: 740
    edited March 2020