AIMS Power

plrock55plrock55 Member Posts: 15
Total newbie here. I have a 2018 T@B 400. Can someone explain to me the AIMS Power button and outlet?  My camper was delivered to me by the person I bought it from. He had installed a new battery for me before taking delivery.  He thinks that there may be a problem with the solar control? as the AIMS button went to default and caused the CO2 beeper to go off.  Once I plugged in to shore power the outlet worked fine.  I am not good at understanding electricity, converters etc. So if someone could explain it maybe eventually I will understand.  I know the black box by the battery is inverter and solar control is mounted on wall near heat pump..Anyways, thank you in advance for simple AIMS 101 lesson.

Comments

• N7SHG_HamN7SHG_Ham Member Posts: 1,261
    edited March 2021
    That switch is to turn the AIMS brand of inverter on and off. An inverter converts 12v DC power to 120v AC power the same as you have in your household outlets. It only powers the single outlet near the switch. The factory AIMS inverter is 1200w so fairly low 10 amps of AC power available. You can only power small devices and for limited time as it will put a heavy drain on the batteries. Leave that switch OFF all the time unless using the outlet as the inverter uses power even in idle state and will drain your batteries dead in a fairly short time.

Edit to further comment on beeps, etc. I am not sure what all issues you were seeing, but if I had to guess symptoms of a low battery, possibly due to inverter being left on?

Turn inverter off and see if battery charges and symptoms go away.
    2019 T@B 400 Boondock Lite
  • plrock55plrock55 Member Posts: 15
    Thanks for your info. So under what circumstance would one need to use this outlet? When there are others to use when hooked to shore power.
  • ScottGScottG Administrator Posts: 5,396