Options

Brand new, slow to charge on solar?

Hi everyone.  I am new to all this and I just took delivery of my first camper, a 2021 Tab400 Boondock with factory solar and whatever batteries the dealer installed.

I guess I’m not sure what to expect from the solar panel in terms of charging.

we ran the battery fairly low from one night with no shore power running the fan on medium.  Sorry nice then, it’s been in my driveway for almost a week with everything turned off (to my knowledge) and the battery is only just now close to full charge.

Thoughts? 
Thank you!

Comments

• Options
    VernaVerna Member Posts: 6,878
    The T@B 400’s come with dual 6V AGM batteries with a brand name of Harris.  The batteries are located under your bed, and this is the one model that the nüCamp factory does install the batteries. 

Further information on the Harris batteries can be found from other owners’ posts here by searching for Harris using the search box in the upper right corner of this page. You can also Google Harris for their information.

As far as your batteries just getting fully charged, if you don’t already have a battery meter or a multi meter. I highly recommend them. Using the lights on the installed panel to determine the charged state of your batteries do not give you an accurate picture of the battery’s charge. 

If you turn your batteries off during storage, the solar panels are still charging the batteries and all phantom power draws are deleted and the full charge will be achieved quicker. If you are connected to shore power, this will charge your batteries, also. 

Good luck
    Verna, Columbus, IN
    2021 T@B 320S  Boondock “The T@B”
    Towed by a white 2019 Ford F-150 4x4 Supercab, 3.5L V6 Ecoboost “The Truck”
  • Options
    SnoblettSnoblett Member Posts: 99
    Thank you for pointing me in the right direction!
  • Options
    pthomas745pthomas745 Moderator Posts: 3,642