Options

Winterizing: Am I missing "common sense"

Thanks to everyone for all the information and helpful suggestions. This is my first time winterizing and I believe that everything has gone according to the instructions posted by nucamp. ....until the final step. When the valves are in winter mode it then says to open each faucet  and run until we see antifreeze, when we do this we do not get anything out of the faucet. To me this makes sense because we have the valves closed off to these facilities (galley sink for example). Should I not open the valve to that "facility" in order to have fluid move through that circuit and then close the valve back into winter mode.
Thanks for any advice on this subject.

Comments

• Options
    Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 9,496
    For winter mode, your valves should be set to bypass the Alde.  That is, open the bypass valve and close the hot and cold water supply valves.  Then you can use the pump to run antifreeze throughout the plumbing lines, opening each tap until you see pink. 

Do you have a picture of your valve settings?

Sharon / 2017 T@B CSS / 2015 Toyota Sienna Minivan / Westlake, Ohio
  • Options
    KLRKLR Member Posts: 11
    This is our current valve settings. We also tried the pump on with the drain valves closed (cold and hot water)
  • Options
    edited October 2021
    Your mixing valve is blocked by the closed valve on the cold water line in your first picture.
  • Options
    Thanks so much. We'll try that change tomorrow.
  • Options