Options

Brake issues

JetmanJetman Member Posts: 45
edited February 2022 in Trailer & Towing
i have 2015 TAB 320S model, having issues with brakes towards the end of a trip when get into congested traffic the RH brake seems to grab on final end of the stop and the trailer actually jerks when release the brake pedal. I adjust controller to 1.5 or 2 on the Gain control and to 1o or 2o on the Sync Control, helps a little. Do not understand having to adjust the Controller so much? Also seems to be more brake dust on RH wheel, none on LH wheel. Am having to reset the brake controller several times during the trip and am told that should not have to be done. Also at end of last trip when parking camper under car port have a scrapping noise from RH wheel as it rotates. Controller is aDraw-Tite 5504.

Is it a controller problem or a brake problem, I am not a mechanic. I have read on this forum of same problems with other same Draw  Tite controllers and that others replaced with a Prodigy P2 Controller an problem went away.

Thanks for any help 

Comments

• Options
    Grumpy_GGrumpy_G Member Posts: 456
    There is only a single controller output going to both trailer brakes. Typical failures are wiring to the brake on one side (left hand in your case), or bearing grease got into the drum severely reducing the braking power. 

In any case it sounds like it's time to remove the drums on both sides and see what's going on. 
  • Options
    tabiphiletabiphile Member Posts: 426