Options

Grounding of Generators

The previous owner of my 2021 Tab 400 included an unused Champion 2500W inverter dual fuel (gas/propane) generator with the Tab.  He also installed an easy start on the Dometic Air Conditioner.  I am a newbie to generators and am finding conflicting information regarding grounding.
The owner's manual states that this is a Neutral Floating generator and, therefore, must be grounded (copper grounding pole to earth) whenever it is used.  I have read elsewhere that a generator attached to an RV should not be grounded.  Two questions:
-Must this generator be grounded whenever attached to the Tab?
-Should a 120v surge protector be used as well?
I suspect the answers are both likely to be a simple "yes", but it is not fully clear to me.
I do not foresee using this generator other than when Air Conditioning my be needed while boondocking.
Thank you.
2021 T@b 400 Boondock
       Oneonta, NY

Comments

• Options
    Dutch061Dutch061 Member Posts: 765
    The issue that can happen with a floating ground, primarily tends to happen when using a surge protector.

In my case, I am using the Progressive Industries EMS-HW30C with a remote display. This display has a "bypass switch" so that when I use my 3500-Watt Generator, I can use the bypass mode to allow the surge protector to let the AC voltage pass through. If I don't, the surge protector will prevent the AC voltage to pass through. The other option is to make or buy a "grounding plug", but again this will only be an issue if you have a surge protector. 

So now to answer your questions.

1. No, the generator doesn't need to have a ground rod driven in when you use it.