Options

Just picked up a new 320 S Boondock can't unhitch the coupler ? I tow with a Jeep Gladiator, Ideas?

CCCCCC Member Posts: 116
I tow with a Jeep Gladiator and had a drop down hitch which they converted to a drop up hitch and added 10 lbs or pressure to the tires. It seems the angle it too severe (high) to crank the hitch up high enough to release the ball. Is there some trick? I've never used one of these coupler hitches before.
2022 T@B 320 S Boondock  "UGA", Jeep Gladiator Overland
North Georgia

Comments

• Options
    fstop32fstop32 Member Posts: 362
    @CCC can you add a pic of the hitch and hookup?
    DaveR middleTN - 2015 320S  /  TV 2003 Tundra 4x4
  • Options
    Sorry, can't figure out how to post pics.
    North Georgia
  • Options
    MarcelineMarceline Member Posts: 1,503
    edited April 2022
    If you backed into a spot, try pulling forward even just a few inches before trying to uncouple. This can relieve some of the pressure on the hitch, allowing the coupler to open. 
    San Francisco Bay Area
    2013 CS-S us@gi
    Battered but trusty 3.5l V6 Hyundai Santa Fe
    2015 Toyota Tacoma PreRunner Double Cab
  • Options
    MuttonChopsMuttonChops Member Posts: 1,595
    If the newer units continue to use the Yoke-Style Coupler . . .

Suggest you place blocks of wood under the Jack Post Wheel as you must be able to raise the trailer 2-4 Inches higher than the towing ball.
    Do make 100% sure you have chocks on the trailer wheels so the trailer Does Not Move.
    Also, new couplers can be stiff . . . do not Hammer On It . . . play with tow ball vs coupler contact distance and angles until the coupler will open By Hand.

For reference:

P.S.
       Weird that you have installed a 'drop-up ball' as the Gladiator is a high clearance vehicle while the topical Boondock coupler is some 18-inches above the grounds.
    '18 320 Spitched axle, 3020HE; PNW based
    TV: '17 Colorado V6 Z71 4x4, Tow Package, GM Brake Controller