Options

RTIC coolers?

Anyone have a review of RTIC coolers?
I just can't bring myself to pay for Yeti if there is something comparable.
Thanks for any info!!!
2018 T@B 320 S Boondock  |  2015.5 Volvo XC60 T6 AWD  |  Seattle, WA, USA
"Blessed are the curious, for they shall have adventures.”― Lovelle Drachman

Comments

• Options
    CCCCCC Member Posts: 116
    They are pretty comparable but both are very heavy when they are full. Fine for the back of the truck not good to tote unless you are 30 and jacked.
    2022 T@B 320 S Boondock  "UGA", Jeep Gladiator Overland
    North Georgia
  • Options
    Yoshi_TABYoshi_TAB Member Posts: 381
    edited July 2022
    Hi, Agree with @CCC .  We bought a  45 Qt RITC just before our recent 8 week trip out west.  It was much heavier (empty) than our older Coleman of similar size.  And very heavy when full.  But, it kept the ice and things cold for a long time.  Much longer than our older Coleman.  I have no experience with a Yeti.  We kept it in our tow vehicle the entire time but was very heavy just to slide in and out, let alone lift (as stated above).  After the inital use of all the food in the cooler  we found the TAB refrigerator was large enough for 4-5 days worth of food and all we needed was smaller drink cooler and go shopping every 4-5 days.  We plan to buy a smaller cooler that will fit on the front platform of our TAB.  If you lived closer..I'd sell the 45 qt cheap.   Best wishes and happy cold food & drinks...
    2021 TAB 320 BD
    2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee
    Southern Maryland
  • Options
    CharlieRNCharlieRN Member Posts: 439
    edited July 2022
    We have a Cascade 45 qt cooler that appears to be identical to the RTIC. As @Yoshi_TAB and @CCC note, it is heavy (nearly 30 lbs empty) but is well-insulated and keeps things cold. It's size and weight are definite cons, but it is robust, even bear-proof when the proper hardware is used.