Options

Streaming/TV devices

Well I have "Cut the cord" from cable tv service for 12 months now and love it. I have a couple of Roku 3's that I use at home and was wondering if anyone uses a streaming device on the road. I'm sure you have to have cable hookup at the park in order to stream. Just wondering if it is really beneficial, don't like to really be tied to watching tv while camping. Thoughts? 
M@rk and Donn@ : 2015 T@B S Max, Silver/Black, 2008 Toyota Beef Taco DC

Comments

• Options
    VernaVerna Member Posts: 6,878
    edited August 2015
    Lark, tell us what you use at home for service, what products you use, and why, please. Novice here at streaming and cutting the cord.  And, yes, how this can be used while camping.

I carry a DVD wallet with over 100 DVD's for those cold Arizona nights and rainy days. I also have a Tailgater portable satellite and receiver to watch cable TV and basketball. I had problems remaining within my data plan limits, and I need to make better use of Wi-Fi service when I find it. 
    Verna, Columbus, IN
    2021 T@B 320S  Boondock “The T@B”
    Towed by a white 2019 Ford F-150 4x4 Supercab, 3.5L V6 Ecoboost “The Truck”
  • Options
    LARKLARK Member Posts: 146
    Verna- You still have to have a provider for internet without the tv service. I went from paying 230.00 a month to 89.00 a month. You must purchase your streaming device (i.e. Roku, Apple tv, Amazon fire,etc). Then you can purchase subscriptions to channels or use free ones. There are ones like Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, and one called Sling TV. With sling it is live tv with selections of channels you can sign up for. Why did I choose the products I use....the Roku 3 seemed to be more user friendly and I liked the small size of the unit. They have a forum also!
  • Options
    NomadNomad Member Posts: 7,209
    Streaming devices rely on an internet connection rather than a cable "TV" connection - Correct?
  • Options