Options

Converter operation

I am just learning operation of my 2017 Outback. Upon disconnecting the AC power, should the converter stop running or continue to run for a short time? Or, if it continues to run will it do so until it drains the battery? I don’t know what constitutes normal here. Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    NYRichardNYRichard Member Posts: 7
    Also, in an online manual I see a reference to “Battery Disconnect Switch.” Is this an add-on cuz I don’t see such a thing
  • Options
    MarcelineMarceline Member Posts: 1,505
    NYRichard said:
    Also, in an online manual I see a reference to “Battery Disconnect Switch.” Is this an add-on cuz I don’t see such a thing
    T@Bs didn’t originally have that switch. It’s a good idea to install one if you’ll be storing the T@B unconnected from shore power. Otherwise, pulling the fuse on the line from the battery serves the same function. 
    San Francisco Bay Area
    2013 CS-S us@gi
    Battered but trusty 3.5l V6 Hyundai Santa Fe
    2015 Toyota Tacoma PreRunner Double Cab
  • Options
    BaylissBayliss Member Posts: 1,299
    edited May 2023
    @NYRichard, below is a photo of a battery disconnect switch (shown as installed on a 2019 T@B 320 S.)  The battery positive ("+") and negative ("-") wires are routed through it so that you can easily cut off the battery (12V DC) power, so it is nice convenience to have.  If you do opt to add one, whether you do it yourself or have an RV or similar shop do it for you, you will need to add a 30-amp inline fuse on the battery positive wire and locate it close to the battery.

When you disconnect from AC power, the converter loses all power and will no longer be charging the battery.  So, the short answer is that "no," it will not be running when disconnected from AC power.