Options

Rear view camera installation

Hi, Total newbie to Nucamps. Want to install a Furrion vision S to the rear of my Tab 320S. Attaching it on the shelf above the license plate provides easy access to power. I believe that location would also provide a satisfactory view of the road and campsites while backing up.

Has anyone had experience installing this system? How do you attach the camera to the Tab? Screws, superglue?

Appreciate any advice.

Comments

• Options
    Yoshi_TABYoshi_TAB Member Posts: 381
    Hi,

Different ways to power and attach  the camera.  Mine is powered out of the 12V junction box on the trailer frame near the front.  Ran wires exterior /under trailer from TAB  rear to junction box.  Used a water proof grommet in hole of junction box to run wire in/out.  My camera is a license plate mount .  
    2021 TAB 320 BD
    2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee
    Southern Maryland
  • Options
    Good2goGood2go Member Posts: 20
    Hi  I attached mine to the aluminum tubing framework above the license plate - tapped into power from the license plate light.  I attached it using simple plastic tie wraps. Works OK - adequate when backing up at a campground or parking lot. Inadequate in my view on the road because it's mounted too low.  I'm hoping to find a way to attach it higher up so I can get a better view of vehicles behind me while traveling.
  • Options
    JilongJilong Member Posts: 85
    I recommend attaching the camera as high as you can, otherwise the view will be absolutely miserable at night when headlights directly shine into the camera. Be aware that semi-truck headlights are much higher as well.
    2018 Tab 400 × 2013 Toyota Highlander Limited AWD
  • Options
    AnOldURAnOldUR Member Posts: 1,290
    Our Garmin GPS allows toggling between cameras. We have a license plate camera, one on the roof and a third that we'll sometimes put in the back of our tow vehicle to keep track of the dog.
    Stockton, New Jersey