Options

T@B Solar Panel Roof Mount with Tilt-Able Brackets Mod for under $300

13»

Comments

• Options
    DougHDougH Member Posts: 1,110
    The 10-15% rule is a flexible guideline though. Some boating sites state tongue weight should be 7-10%. Sway is dictated by geometry and speed, so a 320 can usually be towed below 60mph at values as low as 7% without a hint of sway.  I have AGM batteries in the back, so run under 10% if running with empty tanks.  Never have had an issue even being passed by 18 wheelers on the highway... but I'm a slow driver.
    2021 Jeep Gladiator, 2021 tiny toy hauler, Austin TX
    Former steward of a 2017 T@B S Max

• Options
    AldebaranJillAldebaranJill Member Posts: 451
    DougH said:
    The 10-15% rule is a flexible guideline though. Some boating sites state tongue weight should be 7-10%. Sway is dictated by geometry and speed, so a 320 can usually be towed below 60mph at values as low as 7% without a hint of sway.  I have AGM batteries in the back, so run under 10% if running with empty tanks.  Never have had an issue even being passed by 18 wheelers on the highway... but I'm a slow driver.
    I am speaking from personal experience of sway happening when mine went below 10% - when I was at 9% I experienced some sway and had to redistribute weight to get to 11%.  Given all other variables (we drive different roads and different tow vehicles) I would not encourage others to run below 10% without evaluating. My sway was not due to wind of passing trucks.  
    2013 MAXX T@B towed by a 2015 Volvo S60 5 CYL AWD Sedan
    Seattle, WA
  • Options
    DougHDougH Member Posts: 1,110
    Hope the situation wasn't a scary one!