Le Refuge

LuckyjLuckyj Member Posts: 286
edited August 2017 in Introductions
Hello to all.

I have been here a couple of month, sharing some ideas and taking a lot of them.  Think it is now time to introduce our selfs.

my name is Luc, girl friend Rachel.  I'm a paramedic and volunteer ski patroler (telemarker), she is a social worker.  We got togehter a little more than 5 years ago, and we realized over time that we both liked the outdoor, summer or winter, we like water and dogs.  I was already into offroading, but it was not something she enjoyed much.  Then I entreduced here to overlanding.  She was hook.  So yes, that gave me a chance to go back to an old dream and came back full circle in a way.  When I was a teenager, I was looking at the Paris to Dakar races and knew that if not race, I wanted to travel the back roads and go on adventure.  Started with a dual bike, 1984 yamaha xt600 that was follwed by a 1987 (canadian) Honda Transalp.  With a limited budget, went accross Canada on the TA to learn english for 6 weeks.  Bike was and is still great.  27 years later, still own the TA but got into a brand New YJ in 1994.   Was my DD, but could use it to travel with friends and my dog.  Was not easy with the bike.  Got into off roading, cause none of my friends wanted to camp travel.  After 15 years and a highly modified YJ, lockers, lift, 2 winch, decided it was time to go back to travel after GF came into my life.  She came with 2 teens that are not into road trip at all.  So slowly getting further away as they get older, and GF just loves it.  

The begining of those adventure were with an offroad trailer and a RTT.  But GF simply did not have the patience of set-up and teardown.  

In urly june, drove by a T@G dealer that had an outback max. We were hook.  After thinking about it, trying for a week to find reason not to get one, we gave up and signed the paperwork.