CoolCat AC on a TAB T16 2007

Hello,
I bought 2 days ago a new T@B Dutchmen T16 2007 never used before. It was stored in a heated garage for 11 years. 

I was surprised that there's no cover included for the CoolCat AC when we're on the road. Is it normal ? Has anyone had bad experience with water infiltration or made some modification to protect their unit. 

Also, I'm new to owning a trailer. Feel free to give me any advice for my T@B 2007.

Thank you! 

Alex Leblanc
T@B Newbie
Québec, Canada

Comments

• rfuss928rfuss928 Member Posts: 909
    edited August 2018
    Many folks with the DM T@Bs made covers for the AC opening.  The enclosure should be weather tight without any additional cover but, like you, many felt wind blown rain and spray from other vehicles was a potential problem.

There are several suggestions and examples in the files and photos of the Yahoo T@B forum.  A very good resource for the DM T@Bs in general.

Congratulations - what a wonderful find!
    Have fun!
    Bob

• photoalexphotoalex Member Posts: 7
    rfuss928 It's a great idea. I'll probably end up making one this fall in plexi-glass.
    Alex Leblanc
    T@B Newbie
    Québec, Canada
  • Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 9,461
    Wow, lucky you!  Take some pictures and share, please.  You will find more info on Dutchman Tabs in the Yahoo group, but you still came to a great place to learn about the Tab.  Take a look through the categories on the left of the page (if you are on a tablet or phone, turn it sideways to locate the Category column).  Make use of the Search box at the top.  The list of hits that come up also include pictures.  Another method of searching for info is:

site:tab-rv.vanillaforums.com  

So if searching for Dutchman tabs:   Dutchman:tab-rv.vanillaforums.com

Welcome and good luck!
    Sharon / 2017 T@B CSS / 2015 Toyota Sienna Minivan / Westlake, Ohio
  • MouseketabMouseketab Member Posts: 1,230