Options

Factory Installed Solar Panel - not working?

marycompettimarycompetti Member Posts: 5
Total newbie here - our Tab 400 has factory solar panels installed. When the battery is turned on, it doesn't appear that the solar panels are charging the battery at all. The Victron app says O Watts for solar and battery state as OFF.  Is there somewhere else that I need to turn on the solar controller to charge the batteries? 

Comments

• Options
    pthomas745pthomas745 Moderator Posts: 3,656
    Couple of posts here recently pointed to wiring at the solar controller not connected properly. Find the solar controller and check the wiring...or send a picture for the "troubleshooters" to see. 

2017 Outback
    Towed by 2014 Touareg TDi
  • Options
    jkjennjkjenn Member Posts: 6,391
    Total newbie here - our Tab 400 has factory solar panels installed. When the battery is turned on, it doesn't appear that the solar panels are charging the battery at all. The Victron app says O Watts for solar and battery state as OFF.  Is there somewhere else that I need to turn on the solar controller to charge the batteries? 
    It would be helpful if you shared a screenshot of what the app is showing you.

2021 T@b 320 Boondock "Mattie Ross" | 2021 T@b Nights: 239 | Total nights in a T@b 455 | 2022 Jeep Grand Cherokee L Overland | T@b owner since 2014

• Options
    Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 9,497
    Did you follow the leads back to the battery and to the solar panel to confirm correct lead placement on the controller?
    Sharon / 2017 T@B CSS / 2015 Toyota Sienna Minivan / Westlake, Ohio
  • Options
    rfuss928rfuss928 Member Posts: 930
    Just from an outsider POV.  It is curious that the color convention switches when comparing the BAT and the PV connections??   Seems to me one of them is reversed.

• Options