Not sure my brand new tow vehicle can tow the 400!?!?

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 0
edited December 2018 in Trailer & Towing
OMG! I just bought a new bigger and stronger tow vehicle so I could buy a T@B 400.  I had a 2 door Jeep Wrangler (2000 lb tow capacity) which I used to tow my 320 (now for sale) so I upgraded to a 4 door  Wrangler with a 3500 tow capacity. My nightmare realization is the max tongue weight is 350!  The T@B website say dry tongue weight is 390! And wet is 400.  Would it be dangerous for me to tow with the vehicle I just bought for this purpose???? Is there anything I can do to lessen this weight? Remove the propane tank? Take out the table? UGH!!!! Update: I think I can get a weight distribution system to help with the tongue weight. Just when I thought I knew everything...alas I'm still learning hahahaha. I'm ok with the overall towing capacity at 3500 pounds.  I dont plan to lug a bunch of gear.

Comments

• db_cooperdb_cooper Member Posts: 726
    Looks like no one else wants to be the bearer of bad news, or there would be some responses by now.  You really don't want to be at the limit of your tow vehicle, you want some margin.  We tow a 320 with a 4 door Xterra, similar dimensions to a Wrangler.  The Xterra has a 500 lb. tongue weight and 5000 lb. tow rating, and I wouldn't tow a 400 with it.  It's a short wheelbase vehicle, and the 400 would "wag the dog".   You really need a longer wheelbase, and a tongue rating of 500.  That's my .01c for the 400. 

My other .01c,  since you haven't bought the 400 yet,  there are other larger trailers out there that don't have the tongue weight issues of the 400.  I love NuCamp,  but there are other quality trailers out there,  so don't feel you are stuck with your new Wrangler.
    2015 Max S Outback | 2010 Xterra