Options

TVehicule for a new Tab 400

HaroloHarolo Member Posts: 30
Hi !
im a newbie ..I’m planning to buy a new 2020 Tab 400 and a new vehicule ....Im thinking to buy a VW Atlas cross sport 2020 V6 3.6L with a towing capacity of 5000 pounds...is it gonna be enough to tow my Tab 400 ! 
Thanks for your help!
Harold Boulanger :-) 🇺🇸🇨🇦🌈

Comments

• Options
    dragonsdoflydragonsdofly Member Posts: 1,926
    edited March 2020
    @Harolo, while on paper what you have stated looks ok, a rule for comfortable and SAFE towing is always have the tow vehicle MORE than adequate, not just barely adequate. You have also not included the tongue weight capacity of the vehicle you are looking at. Some of the previous t@b 400's are running at 500 lbs or over, when loaded. Would that max out your considered tv capacity? What is your payload capacity in your considered vehicle? Remember, you have to consider everything you put in your tv as part of the payload, people, equipment, gear, etc. Does that put you at or over the max capacity of your planned new vehicle? And, lastly, what type of terrain will you be towing in? Will you cross the Rockies, Sierra Nevada, and others? Will you tow in the desert southwest in the summer? Does your vehicle have a factory tow package? Does it include a 7 pin connector? Transmission cooler? Etc? There's a lot to consider. There's a lot to research. There's a lot of information on this forum to help you out. Do your research. Many will offer opinions (including me). Many will conflict. Some will agree. But it is up to you to become informed and make your own decision. Whatever you decide, will it ever put you or the folks out there on the road with you, in danger or jeopardy? Can the vehicle you are considering not only tow, but stop and control your trailer in an emergency? All to be thought about before you commit. Now that I've laid that on you, relax, it's all part of the journey to own your trailer, and all part of the adventure.