Options

Inverter - To Install or Not To Install

Newbie here...

We are looking into getting a 2018 400.    I asked the dealer if it was equipped for us to be able to run a microwave, toaster or hairdryer.  Her reply was yes you can run most appliances just make sure not to have them on the same circuit.  I don't think that's completely true.  The trailer has twin 6V batteries and solar but no inverter. 

Can somebody set me straight?

When connected to shore power that gives me 120V coming in to run a microwave, hairdryer or fridge. The converter will reduce the 120V to 12V for the smaller stuff like the lights, pump and fan. 

When running off batteries then the fridge switches over to LP and I have no AC.  Everything else stays the same.

If I install an inverter then I should be able to run anything off grid.  

In other words, the inverter is only required when boondocking and you need to run something that plugs into a standard household outlet.

Under what conditions can you charge your phone or laptop batteries?

Thanks very much. 

Comments

• Options
    pthomas745pthomas745 Moderator Posts: 3,665
    edited May 2020
    Separate what you can do into two parts:  when you are on shore power
    And
    When you are on battery power.
    You have a 30 amp trailer, so when on shore power you are limited to that.  You might run one or two items at a time, easily.  You pretty much have one circuit in the trailer.....the 12v items will run just fine on shore power.
    On the battery, none of the interior plugs will work, since they need shore power (120V).   Using the trailers USB ports and the 12V plugs (the cigarette lighter plugs) you can use small (up to 300 watt) inverters for small items like your phones and SMALL things:  laptops, for example. Phone chargers use very little power. I have a 12v adapter for my laptop.