Options

Winterizing - how do I know that the Alde tank is drained?

This is my first time attempting to winterize our 2018 320S.  I've followed all the helpful advice from this forum, but I question the reason for bypassing the Alde when filling the lines with antifreeze.  It seems to me that any residual water in the tank could freeze and cause a mess, so why wouldn't I add antifreeze to the tank?  I did drain the tank according to the procedures (open yellow valve, raise and lowered the trailer), but how can I be sure there's no water in there?? 
2018 T@B 320S / 2023 Honda Ridgeline / SE Michigan

Comments

• Options
    pthomas745pthomas745 Moderator Posts: 3,678
    The Alde tank holds only about 2 1/2 gallons of water.  The tank is drained by the yellow valve and the cold water low point drain.  As long as "most" of the water is out of the tank, there won't be enough water left to do any damage. 
    2017 Outback
    Towed by 2014 Touareg TDi
  • Options
    RTWCTSRTWCTS Member Posts: 113
    edited October 2023
    The reason you bypass the Alde when adding antifreeze is that it is corrosive to components of the system.
    2023 TAB 400 Boondock
    2018 T@B 320 Sold
    Racing the Wind and Chasing the Sun
  • Options
    Sharon_is_SAMSharon_is_SAM Administrator Posts: 9,509
    If you are not going to use the Alde while winterized, antifreeze will not hurt it.  As pthomas noted, a little water left inside won’t hurt.  To enhance draining the tank, it may help to open a hot tap (prevents a vacuum effect).
    Sharon / 2017 T@B CSS / 2015 Toyota Sienna Minivan / Westlake, Ohio
  • Options
    edited October 2023
    If you are not going to use the Alde while winterized, antifreeze will not hurt it.
    Sorry everyone about giving incorrect information in my previous post in this discussion.
    2023 TAB 400 Boondock
    2018 T@B 320 Sold
  • Options
    ScottGScottG Administrator Posts: 5,448