Advice for an upcoming trip, first time in the T@B

FloridalohaFloridaloha Member Posts: 68
edited September 2016 in Solo Travelers Hints & Tips
I am getting ready to drive solo 14 hours from my home in FL to a new little WV vacation house I bought, this time for a two week stay. I plan to take the T@B on its maiden voyage to make this trip. My goal will be to drive in daylight hours and, ideally, to stay in places where I won't have to unhook the trailer. I'm thinking I'll stay over two nights on the way up, driving about 6 hours a day. I will just be sleeping in the trailer and not camping per se, so I don't really care about staying in scenic places this time, just places that are safe and easy for me to spend the night. I do know I can stay overnight at WalMarts and Cracker Barrels (right?) but are there any other suggestions you guys have for places for me to consider that would give me an easy in and out without backing up, since I'm still kind of new at that? I don't mind spending money to stay in a safer or more convenient place. Power isn't a big consideration unless I still need a/c at night in Georgia somewhere. I'd think 6-7 hours will put me somewhere near Savannah. I can look up places myself but thought you guys might have some recommendations.

Also, because I'm not unhooking the T@B, I was wondering about eating on the trip, where one could pull the car and trailer. Can you pull through a fast food drive through with the T@B? I will carry enough food for the first day in a cooler, but was wondering if anyone had tips on eating on the road with the trailer pulled behind. I am fine with supermarket take-out, so that is always a possibility.

I will be doing "fun" camping in the future, this is purely to get from point a to b, and when I arrive at the new house, I'll be staying in the T@B until the moving van arrives.