Options

Newbie with Spare tire & battery lock questions

TaBulatedTaBulated Member Posts: 24

I’m a newbie and have some questions about the spare tire and the battery box.  My spare tire is the type that is mounted under the T@B. If you have this kind do you lock your spare tire? While on the subject of locks do you lock your battery box? In either case, what kind of lock do you use and how is the lock attached?

Back to the spare tire does the spare tire tend to get bumped or scratched much?

Do you suggest a cover for the spare tire?  If so, why is it helpful.

2017 T@B Max U
TV: 2015 Toyota Sienna XLE
David & Barb - Edmond, OK

Comments

• Options
    RatkityRatkity Member Posts: 3,770
    My spare tire scraped one time when I went into a gas station when it was underneath. That was it. I went underneath the T@B on my driveway and couldn't believe how difficult it was to remove and move the thing out - imagine 18-wheelers whizzing by, rocks, glass, debris and something smelly nearby. That was the last time it was underneath! I paid the extra money for the Yakima rack. I'd probably go with the front tire option like many others have, now that my newer TV has larger towing capacity.

I would suggest a cover if you put it up front or on a rack. They only cost $15. Covers are helpful to keep uv rays from breaking down the tire (although material now days don't break down like the old days).

The Yakima rack had a place to put a lock, but to be honest, someone really would have to want to get a step stool and cut the lock and undo the holder and pull down a 40# tire. Someone with the front tongue option can tell you if their option locks.
    2017 820R Retro Toy Hauler from 2015 Tabitha T@B from 2009 Reverse LG Teardrop (but a T@Bluver at heart)
  • Options
    NomadNomad Member Posts: 7,209
    edited February 2017