Options

Towing my T@B with my Sea Kayak! Is it possible?

DEBinINDEBinIN Member Posts: 12
Hi, 

This is my first post on the T@B forum, and I have a huge dilemma. This question involves towing a T@B 320 and carrying a 17" sea kayak on my car!

I am also new to camping with a trailer.  I have been wanting a 320 for about 7 years when I saw one on display at Canoecopia in Madison, WI.  I recently purchased a 2013 T@B 320 w/o a bathroom in near perfect condition and am so delighted.  I am used to primitive and kayak tent camping, so using a portable toilet and outdoor shower are fine for me right now.  This camper is a test to see how I like it.  If I stay with it, I may upgrade at some point.  So far, I have done short weekend camping trips (without a kayak) to state parks in Indiana and Illinois with gentle sloping highways with my Forester Limited 2010. I have only been on county roads with no more than a 55-60mph limit and the mileage was around 12mph.  I can tell that it is making my Forester really work hard when going up a even small grade.  I want to be able to go wherever I want with my T@B and not having the terrain determine where I can go.

Yesterday I drove about 70 miles on I-70 to the other side of Indianapolis to the T@B dealership to inspect, service, and add a couple items including a Jack-It rack for my bike.  On the interstate using cruise control at 65mph, my mileage was 9.9, and when I drove through Indy in a 55mph zone it was 11.2.  I am now in the process of trading my Forester for a vehicle that can better handle the tow.