Options

Ford Ranger 2019 + Tab 400

All,

Before I can get a Tab 400 I need a new tow vehicle as my Ford Escape won't cut it.  I'm looking at the Ford Ranger as I'm not a big truck guy and the F150 may be too big for me.   The Ranger with towing package has a towing capacity of 7500lb with a tongue weight of 750lb.  So I think I am good with capacity.

Question I have though is there any advantages with 4x4 with regards to towing?   This will be my first trailer so I am new at this.

Thanks, Scott.

Comments

• Options
    tabiphiletabiphile Member Posts: 426
    There is no specific need for 4x4 for towing but it can be extremely helpful in poor conditions or if you decide to do a bit of backroads driving. Once in a while the 4 wheel drive will be useful in a rough, hilly or muddy site. When others get stuck, you can engage all 4 wheels and go. The nice thing about a truck is that the wheels drive from the rear. That is what you want/need for towing. You are speed limited in 4 wheel mode so except in very rare conditions (a snow storm) you would never be towing long distances with it engaged. 
    Keep in mind that 2 wheel drive trucks do not hold their value as well as 4 wheel drive trucks do. There is a much smaller market for them.
  • Options
    scottfwalterscottfwalter Member Posts: 4
    Thanks for the thoughtful reply.
  • Options
    dragonsdoflydragonsdofly Member Posts: 1,926