Options

Viability of 2012 Toyota Tacoma 4 cylinder as TV

GusGus Member Posts: 5
Folks, 
I am a total newbie here and about to purchase a 2021 t@b 320 S Boondock. I have never towed anything ever and can't quite find the answer I am looking for among all the discussions. Do I need to be aware of anything that only experienced campers can share regarding the viability of the Tacoma as a TV?

Comments

• Options
    TampakayakerTampakayaker Member Posts: 554
    Just my 2 cents.

I'm towing a 320 with a 4 door 8 cylinder RAM, and I can feel it behind me, especially hitting holes/ruts and railroad crossings.

To each his/her own, but I wouldn't want to tow a 320 and especially a 400 with anything less than a full sized truck, van or Suburban type SUV.

Why take the risk of not being able to stop, accelerate if needed, and keep from killing an expensive TV.
    2006 RAM 1500 4 door, 2016 T@B 320 MAX S 
    Tampa FL
  • Options
    pthomas745pthomas745 Moderator Posts: 3,678
    edited February 2021
    Welcome to the Forums...........
    Dig deeper into the specs for your Tacoma.  Does it have a towing package, for example.  Seems the towing capacity is 3500...but there are other considerations, and it all depends on the setup on the car.  So.....find more info.  Because....you will be asked. And, you need to know. 
    Here is a thread with some general ideas...but not very specific for the 2012 model.  But, some info on what the 3500 towing capacity really means.

2017 Outback
    Towed by 2014 Touareg TDi
  • Options
    tabiphiletabiphile Member Posts: 426